top of page

The Ultimate Okanagan Staycation: Silver Star Mountain


As you all know, I live in the heart of the Okanagan interior, Kelowna, BC. The best part about where I live is how easy it is to getaway and feel like you're on vacation, but still being close to home. This winter, I decided to plan a little staycation at Silver Star Ski Resort. I love this mountain not only for it's size, but also for the entire ambience and vibe of the village, activities, and restaurants. I drove up with my boyfriend, Logan, and we had the best time! This winter, I experienced as many activities as possible on the mountain which made for the most epic staycation weekend ever.

DAY ONE

Waking up to a fresh snowfall on a ski mountain is a feeling like no other. When we woke up, we got our warm clothes on and walked down to the village to get Logan's ski rentals. I should also note that I was staying with family in their cute, colourful ski-in chalet that is an about a 10 minute walk down to the village. The ski rental process was a quick and smooth experience thanks to all the Silver Star staff. After the rentals were sorted out, we picked up our VIP ski/snowboard passes and then we were off to start our ski day! The snow was amazing and the runs were great as always, my favourite run to start with to warm up is called "Far Out." It's a good green run to start with especially since it was my first time this winter on the mountain! After warming up, I rode blue and green runs for the rest of the day with Logan and my brother; we had great conditions and it was an overall great ski day!

In the middle of our ski day we decided to take a break and go to the famous "Red Antler" restaurant for lunch! The Red Antler is a staple restaurant in the village that serves bar/pub type food! It's the perfect snack stop for a busy ski day! When 4pm rolled around, we returned our ski passes and Logan's snowboard rentals and headed back to the chalet to freshen up before heading to dinner!

Logan and I went to a very romantic dinner for two at the Silver Grill located within the Silver Star village. The Silver Grill is one of the more classier restaurants with the best food I've tasted on the mountain, so I definitely recommend dining their one night you're staying on the mountain! To start off, we ordered two of the appetizers, first the Le Cendeillon Cheese served with Okanagan valley honey, crab apple, and sour dough, which had the best cheese and jam that I've ever tasted! Second, we ordered the wild halibut crude, cultured creme, blood orange, breakfast radish, and red sorrel as our other appetizer. Then we ordered our main course, and this was my favourite part of our dining experience. We ordered the legendary certified Angus beef 21-day aged Tomahawk steak; this dish is large and is meant to be shared between two people. The reason I personally loved this dish so much was because it was served "family style" with one large plate with the steak, the mash potatoes and the salad and a couple large spoons for us to share.

After that, we were very full but we had to try the two desserts that the Silver Grill featured! So, we ordered the Jaffe pave with bergamot orange and cultured creme and we also got the green apple and ricotta doughnuts, macerated blackberries, cinnamon and vanilla bean. The first dessert was very rich in chocolate and the second one was my personal favourite because they reminded me of a better version of the mini doughnuts that everyone loves from the fair! Overall the Silver Grill really delivered with their food, service and location with beautiful views of the snowy trees and the ambience of all the candles, it was truly the most romantic and enjoyable dinner that we've had in a long time, so I highly reccomend it!

So that was the end of day one! It was a very full day of fun and great food. So, we headed back to the chalet to get a goodnight sleep before starting a busy day two!

DAY TWO

After we woke up, we got right into the day and went down to the village for coffee and then walked over to Brewer's pond which is Silver Star's beautiful 2.5 acre skating rink! We went to first rent our skates and off we were! I'm not a hockey player, but if you are, you can also rent out hockey sticks and play a pick up game with others! It's a fun atmosphere around the rink with a big fire pit close by and a small café and bar to grab a bite to eat. After skating, we walked over to go snow tubing! Snow-tubing is one of my favourite winter activities at Silver Star! It's fun, there are gorgeous views and the staff are so friendly!

This staycation at Silver Star Mountain exceeded all of my expectations from the winter activities to the food to the kindness of all the staff I encountered. I highly recommend choosing Silver Star when looking for a place to getaway in the Okanagan this winter! If you want to learn more about Silver Star and what they offer CLICK HERE.

These experiences with Silver Star were gifted, but all opinions are always my own.

bottom of page